The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Tennessee County Municipal Advisory Service

You are here

Accreditation Model

Reference Number: MTAS-358
Tennessee Code Annotated
Reviewed Date: November 06, 2017
Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF Version

A task force consisting of a group of highly qualified and dedicated professionals developed the accreditation model. These chief fire officers, trainers, city and county administrators, and academic professionals worked together to develop the self-assessment model, the basis for accreditation. The model provides a proven methodology to continually evaluate and improve services. The process helps organizations stay in touch with the communities they serve and meet the needs of their citizens.

Included in the accreditation model are the following 10 categories that fire departments use to evaluate their performance:

  • Assessment and Planning
  • Essential Resources
  • External Systems Relations
  • Financial Resources
  • Goals and Objectives
  • Governance and Administration
  • Human Resources
  • Physical Resources
  • Programs
  • Training and Competency

Within each category are criteria that measure or index a service or practice so that a judgment can be made. Within each criterion are performance indicators that define the desired level of ability to demonstrate a particular task as specified in the accreditation model. A total of 244 performance indicators are evaluated in preparation for the accreditation with 77 of these being core competencies that cannot be failed.

The Accreditation model includes a comprehensive research and information collection guide with checklists, exhibits, benchmarks, references, and activities broken down by category. Several appendices address additional topics including defining the elements of response time, creating standards of response coverage, and developing master or strategic plans.