The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Tennessee County Municipal Advisory Service

You are here

Scope of Practice EMS Rule Overview

Reference Number: MTAS-1947
Tennessee Code Annotated
Reviewed Date: August 07, 2017
Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF Version

The scope of practice for Emergency Medical Services (EMS) in Tennessee recognizes four levels of EMS providers: Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT), and paramedic. The level of First Responder no longer exists and was replaced by the level of Emergency Medical Responder (EMR). The current continuing education requirements for recertification took effect January 1, 2015.

The complete list of the rules of the Tennessee Department of Emergency Medical Services may be found at this link: